FUOYE SSANU elects New Excos

By Eleniola Bamidele, Ekiti

The Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU), Federal University Oye Ekiti, FUOYE  branch has elected the former Secretary of the Association as their branch Chairman  for next four years in office

Faleye emerged the new FUOYE SSANU chairman in an election held at the 2nd Quadrennial congress of the union at the Faculty of Science auditorium of the institution on 24th January, 2023. 

Newsline NG learnt that the election was free, fair and credible.

Faleye polled 161 votes to defeat his opponent, Comrade Awe Funso, who scored 52 votes while Comrade Olanusi Simon emerged Vice chairman and Comrade Aluko Ayomikun as the General Secretary.

Other winners are Comrade Barnabas Nwokeke (Trustee), Comrade Vandi Kwabe (Treasurer), Comrade Akinshola Gbenga Emmanuel (Financial Secretary), Comrade Eleniola Bamidele (Public Relations Officer), Comrade Olufẹmi-Awolokun Abosede (Women Leader).

Speaking shortly after announcing the result, The Chairman Electoral Committee, Comrade Egunjobi Boluwatife said the committee has conducted a free and fair election.

His words, "the positions were duly contested and the committee was fair to all the contestants.

He urged the new Excos to lead by example and carry every member along for the benefit of the association.

In his handing over speech, the outgoing Chairman, Comrade Oyelude appreciated the Almighty Allah for his mercy and guidance through out his tenure in office.

" I want to appreciate the entire branch members for the rare opportunity given to serve as the Chairman. Your meaning support, corporation and understanding was great and cannot be measured, even in face of storm you displayed the spirit of unity and understanding.

"To the zonal. Executive Committee (ZEC) members, I appreciate your support and mentorship as well as the spirit of brotherliness in the struggle for our members and the union. I can confidently say I experienced the true meaning of solidarity forever' all I can say is thank you, amandla awethu!

Mr Oyelude used the medium to itemize some of his achievements in office, which include, prompt promotion, backdating of letters for members whom were denied, payment of hazard allowance, upgrading and conversion for members, redesigning of the controversial APER form and the likes 

In his acceptance speech, Mr Faleye commended delegates for electing him to pilot the branch affairs of the association.

“For this I feel greatly humbled and deeply thankful and I salute you all, as you elect me as the new elected Chairman of SSANU FUOYE branch. 

He pledged to pilot the affairs of the association without fear or favour for the benefit of all.

He said; “ I want to thank God for today. This victory is not just for myself, it is for every member of the union. I want to remind everyone of the promises I made in my manifesto”.
He further used the opportunity to re-assure that the interest of every member of the union will be protected irrespective of whom they voted for.

Also, Comrade Faleye Banjamin Oluwaseun expressed delight and applauded the staff for giving him the mandate.

Highlight of the event included; Administering of oath of office by the Deputy National President of SSANU, West, Comrade Abdussobour Olayiwola Salaam on the new executive among others. 

Comrade Abdussobour Olayiwola Salaam who also doubles as Deputy Registrar with Federal University of Agriculture, FUNAAB however charged them to always put the interest of the union above their personal interest.

"I want to implore all the executives to be magnanimous in carrying everybody along in the scheme of things to move the union forward. He said. 

The epoch making event was graced by  Comr. Dr Abdussobur Salaam- Nat. Vice President West, Comr. B.E Adeoye , Western Zone Treasurer, Comr. Taiwo Arobadi - OAU Chairman, Comr. T.A Aguda, EKSU Chairman, Comr. Temidayo Temola. 

Others included; OSUTECH Chairman, Comr. Tayo Ogungbeni- AAUA Chairman, Comr. Samuel Ariyo BOUESTI Secretary, Comr. Olayinka Ogunmokun, EKSU Secretary,  Comr. Omobola Tajani, OAU Treasurer and Comr. Muritala Yusufu, EKSU PRO and host of others. 

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post

Classic Ads

Post ADS 1

Click for more details

Post ADS 1